I have not made posting a priority… and see where that leaves us.

Anyway. I was tagged a couple weeks ago by Zane over at Simple Impossibilities, a fabulous little nook of the internet. Thanks, Zane! This is going to be fun.

1. Name a book you’re embarrassed you haven’t read.

Sense and Sensibility. Which I have started. But I got… 1/4 through?… And I have not picked it up in months.

2. What is the strangest thing you’ve ever used as a bookmark?

I’m thinking probably an oven mitt. I was reading in the kitchen, and it was right on hand. ;D I have also used pens, rulers, other books… I kind of take the cake for strange bookmarks.

3. Look at your bookshelf. What is the first yellow-spined book you see?

The Moorchild, by Eloise McGraw. This book is good. The mood to the whole story is great, sort of primitive medieval fantasy with a Celtic-like twist.

4. If you could have one new book from a deceased author, who would it be?

This question IS cheating. Possibly Henry Winterfeld. I know of only four books by him, three of which I read when I was about eleven. They were all really funny and enjoyable.

5. Name an author who deserves more readership.

L. M. Montgomery. Her books and stories are all wonderful!! Especially the Anne of Green Gables series (there are eight fantastic books in all).

6. Bookmark or random piece of paper?

Random piece of paper. Always.

7. Can you stop anywhere in a book, or do you have to finish the chapter?

I prefer not to stop till the chapter’s finished, but I’ve been forced to grow used to slapping a book down in the middle with how swamped by responsibilities I tend to be…

8. One book at a time OR several?

Neither. Usually LOTS.

9. Do you read ahead or skip pages?

*blushes* Oh, yes. If there’s an especially boring scene I’ll flip a page or two.

10. Breaking the spine, or keeping it like new?

As if!! Like new, always.

11. What books do you regret reading?

The Princess Diaries. Last year I read the first one and it completely turned me off. There was, first and foremost, the whole public-school high school vibe to it: (“Above all let me be popular, or else I die”), which annoyed me. Also there was something highly inappropriate implied in one scene, and one or two inappropriate conversations. Overall I got the impression that the author could have done a WAY better job. I don’t recommend it at all.

12. On average, how many books do you read per year?

Probably 100-150. This might be way off; it’s just an estimate. And I’ve never been good with estimations. It really depends on the year. I also re-read favorite books a LOT, so are we counting those?

13. What book can you read hundreds of times and never get tired of?

Ella Enchanted, by Gail Carson Levine. READ THIS. <3

14. What’s the biggest lesson you’ve learned from a book?

Phew. I have learned so many countless lessons and have so benefited and grown from so many books it’s hard for me to select the biggest. I invoke made-up rule #604: I’m allowed to skip one question.

(Yes. Yes, that was totally cheating.)

15. What’s the most recent book you’ve read?

The Betrayal, by Douglas Bond.

16. Name a book quote you’ll never forget.

I must include two, at the very least.

You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view – until you climb into his skin and walk around in it.

-Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird

Sometimes people are beautiful not in looks, not in what they say, just in what they are.

-Markus Zusak

(This is from his book I am the Messenger, which I have not read. I just love the quote.)

17. How many books do you own?

I’d say somewhere around 350-400.

18. In the past year, what is the greatest book you’ve read?

Seriously?! Agh! This year isn’t even very far along! Well, so far I would have to say The Dragon’s Tooth, #1 of The Ashtown Burials. :D I think.

And then I am going to go above and beyond lazy with the whole tagging-thing. I hereby tag whoever is reading this. There. Glad that’s over.

6FE0EA0201374C7D9D2B1BAFC8AD014D

What are your favorite book quotes? Literary regrets? And has anyone else EVER used an oven mitt as a bookmark. Please tell me I’m not alone. I’d love to hear from you!

 

4 thoughts on “

  1. Let me think… Oven mit? No… Pot holder… probably. I’ll use practically anything as a bookmark, provided it stays in my book. And doesn’t fall out. Or is something a random person would grab to wipe up a spill. Like a cloth napkin??! (Yes I use those…)
    And I completely understand not finishing S&S. It’s… quite dull, actually. PRIDE AND PREJUDICE FOREVER.

    Like

Leave a Reply

